Legislative Branch of Federal Government of United States Constitution

Spread the love

The first branch of the federal government created by the Constitution of the United States was the legislative branch. Created by Article 1, the legislative branch is responsible for writing the laws at the federal level and for carrying out other specific tasks, such as collecting and collecting taxes, paying debts, coining money, the declaration of war, the establishment of a post office and the fixing of a standard of weight. and measurements.

The United States Congress is the legislative body for the United States government. The Congress is in fact made up of two distinct entities: –

  • The House of Representatives: – It was designed to be representative of the distribution of the population in the United States. States with a higher population like California, Texas or Florida have more seats in the House of Representatives than states with a lower population like Wyoming, Montana or Alaska. In 2016, the House of Representatives was made up of 435 elected officials, distributed proportionately among states according to the respective population of each state.
  • The Senate: – It was built to prevent large states from overpowering or heavily arming small states. Each state has two senator seats, which means there are 100 senators in the Senate.

Congress is a single body responsible for writing  laws that includes these two distinct parts. Therefore, the House of Representatives and the Senate must work together and approve the legislation as bills or the porposed laws. The bill must pass both houses of Congress by majority vote before it can be forwarded to the President of the United States for signature. If a bill is passed in the House of Representatives but not in the Senate or vice versa, it is a failed bill that cannot become law.